Smriti Irani receives longest applause while taking oath as Lok Sabha member

Union Minister Smriti Irani, who defeated Congress President Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, received the longest applause when she took oath as member of the 17th Lok Sabha on Monday. As soon as she was called for oath taking, ruling BJP members, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, other union ministers and MPs were seen enthusiastically thumping the desk for a long time. ALSO READ | BJP MP Virendra Kumar sworn in as protem speaker of Lok Sabha After taking oath in Hindi, Irani greeted pro-tem Speaker Virendra Kumar and also oposition leaders, including Rahul Gandhis mother and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, who reciprocated the greetings with a namaste gesture. Rahul Gandhi was not present in the House at that time The Union Textile Minister defeated Gandhi by a margin of over 55,000 votes in Uttar Pradeshs Amethi constitutency, considered as the pocket borough of Gandhi family for long.


邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注