Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM for fifth consecutive term

Biju Janata Dal president Naveen Patnaik Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for a fifth consecutive term. Patnaik was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ganeshi Lal in a grand ceremony at the Idco Exhibition Ground here. PM Narendra Modi: Congratulations to Naveen Patnaik ji on taking oath as Odisha Best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the people I assure complete cooperation from the Centre in working for Odisha (file pic)\/KCiD4D2dIN It is the first time Patnaik has taken oath in an open public ground. In 2000, 2004, 2009 and 2014, he was sworn in at the Raj Bhavan. Apart from chief ministers elder brother and businessman Prem Patnaik, sister and noted writer Gita Mehta, around 7,000 dignitaries including captains of industries attended the swearing-in ceremony. A large number of BJD supporters and women grass root leaders attended the function.